Fluffy Cinnamon Cakes

I love cinnamon. There are even lots of great reasons why cinnamon is good for us. Unfortunately, the boys don’t share my enthusiasm for it. The last time I made cinnamon cake, I had the following conversation with G2 –

G2: Mama, what’s that smell?
Me: *thinking he thought it smelled as heavenly as I did, I puffed up my chest and replied* My cinnamon cake! Would you like some?
G2: *shakes his head vigorously* It smelled un-good.

Hmpft.

It’s been a while since I’ve tried making anything with cinnamon in it, but I was hankering for it recently and decided I was going to make some even if it meant I had to eat it all by myself. This recipe is even better than the one I made last time. To my surprise, G1 asked to try some and guess what? He loved it!

Ingredients:

  • 125 g butter
  • 200g castor sugar
  • 150 g self-raising flour
  • 50 g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 60 ml milk

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180 C. Prepare cake tin.
  • Combine all ingredients into a mixing bowl. Beat on medium until smooth and changed in colour.
  • Spoon into prepared pan.
  • Cupcakes – bake for 25 minutes. 20cm cake pan – bake for 50 minutes.
  • Stand for 5 minutes. Remove from pan and dust with icing sugar when cool.
